Introduction


SCROLL DOWN

Introduction


 

WE EMPOWER:

Youth in Sustainable Development

SDSN Youth educates young people about the Sustainable Development Goals and provides opportunities for them to pioneer innovative solutions to address the world's biggest challenges.

We create platforms for young people to connect, collaborate and integrate their ideas and perspectives into national and regional pathways for the implementation of the SDGs.

 
SDG_Icon_Stripe.png
 

SDGs


SDGs


SDGProjection_UNHQ.jpg

SDGs - The Sustainable Development Goals

On September 25th, 2015, 193 member states of the United Nations adopted a set of 17 Sustainable Development Goals, which serve as a guide to the social, economic and environmental actions everybody takes to achieve a sustainable future by the year 2030. This landmark agreement serves as a framework of global aspirations for the world to commit to in order to address the biggest global challenges of our time. They call upon all stakeholders - governments, businesses, civil society, academia and of course, youth, to work together in creating solutions that will meet the goals and their targets.

Learn More About SDGs

20739.jpg

Sustainable Development

In 1987, the United Nations’ World Commission on Environment and Development (also known as the Brundtland Commission) defined sustainable development as “development that meets the needs of the present without compromising the ability of future generations to meet their own needs.” It calls for an envisioning of a future in which our world is able to achieve an integration of sustainable development’s three dimensions--particularly economic, social, and environmental conditions in a well-balanced, harmonious manner.

DSC08812.jpg

Role of Youth

As young people and inheritors of this planet, we must spearhead the movement of transformation. With over half of the global population today comprising of people under 30 years old, the youth has an active role to play in putting up a fight against the biggest challenges facing our world and bringing to fruition the Sustainable Development Goals. Equipped with passion, creativity, energy, and idealism, we can bring about generational change, challenge the status quo and secure a more prosperous and peaceful future.


Youth For SDGs

About Us


About Us


 
SDSNYouth_at_UNHQ.jpg

Our Story

In 2012, the UN Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon launched the UN Sustainable Development Solutions Network (SDSN) to mobilize global scientific and technological expertise to promote practical problem solving for sustainable development, including the design and implementation of the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) at local, national and global scales. In 2015, SDSN launched its official youth initiative, SDSN Youth, to empower youth globally to create sustainable development solutions.

SDSN Youth educates young people about the challenges of sustainable development and creates opportunities for them to use their creativity and knowledge to pioneer innovative solutions for the implementation of the SDGs.

With this aim, we create platforms for young people to connect, collaborate and integrate their ideas and perspectives into national and regional pathways for the implementation of the SDGs.

PAS_2252.jpg

Our Mission

“Empowering youth globally to create sustainable solutions”

Educate young people about the SDGs and create pathways for achieving them.

Connect young people globally to exchange ideas, share experiences and collaborate to achieve the SDGs.

Support young people in the creation and scaling of innovative solutions for the SDGs.

DSC03808.jpg

Our Uniqueness

Recognition and Legitimacy — Led by eminent global leaders, scholars, entrepreneurs, innovators, and UN officials

Knowledge and Expertise — works with leading global experts and academics to ensure projects, activities and campaigns are always informed by research and empirical evidence.

Networks and Reach — works with SDSN’s global network of more than 450 universities and campuses, which span over 100 countries

Multifaceted and Holistic — focuses on multidimensional and integrated approaches to sustainable development

programs


programs


 
DSC08791.jpg

Our Programs

SDSN Youth administers a variety of programs to provide youth platforms to mobilize and educate young leaders on the important role they play in advancing the SDGs. Our programs connect young change-makers with like-minded peers and leading sustainable development practitioners with tools and resources to collaborate on contributing toward a more sustainable future.

 
 

Networks


Networks


 
Cover%2BPhoto.jpg

Our Networks

SDSN's National and Regional networks support the localization of SDGs and their implementation, develop long-term transformation pathways for sustainable development, promote education around Agenda 2030, and launch solution initiatives.

 

SDSN Amazonia

(Manaus, Brazil)

amazonia@sdsnyouth.org

 

SDSN Andes

(Urcuquí, Ecuador)

andes@sdsnyouth.org

 

SDSN AusNZPac

(Melbourne, Australia)

ausnzpac@sdsnyouth.org

 
 

SDSN Canada

(Waterloo, Canada)

canada@sdsnyouth.org

SDSN Caribbean

(Kingston, Jamaica)

caribbean@sdsnyouth.org

SDSN Great Lakes

(Kigali, Rwanda)

great.lakes@sdsnyouth.org

 
 
 
 

SDSN Greece

(Athens, Greece)

greece@sdsnyouth.org

SDSN Hong Kong

(Hong Kong, China)

hongkong@sdsnyouth.org

SDSN Indonesia

(Jakarta, Indonesia)

indonesia@sdsnyouth.org

 
 
 
 

SDSN Mediterranean

(Siena, Italy)

mediterranean@sdsnyouth.org

 

SDSN Nigeria

(Ibadan, Nigeria)

nigeria@sdsnyouth.org

 

SDSN Northern Europe

(Gothenburg, Sweden)

northern.europe@sdsnyouth.org

 
 

SDSN Philippines

(Manila, Philippines)

philippines@sdsnyouth.org

SDSN Russia

(Moscow, Russia)

russia@sdsnyouth.org

SDSN Sahel

(Dakar, Senegal)

sahel@sdsnyouth.org

 
 
 
 

SDSN South Korea

(Seoul, Republic of Korea)  

 korea@sdsnyouth.org

 

SDSN South Asia

(New Delhi, India)

south.asia@sdsnyouth.org

 

SDSN Turkey

(Istanbul, Turkey)

turkey@sdsnyouth.org